

2021 Legislative Bulletin - Regular and Special Sessions

July 21, 2021

This bulletin summarizes laws enacted during the 2021 regular and special legislative sessions that impact and are of interest to DPS-DVS staff and business partners.

DPS-DVS staff will receive procedural information from supervisors.

Deputy registrars and driver's license agents will receive procedure information in future DPS-DVS Weekly Updates and Info Hub posts.

- Driver Services
- Vehicle Services
- Legal Affairs

DPS-DVS Staffing and Operations Appropriations

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 5, HF 10, Article 1, section 4, subdivision 4

Effective: July 1, 2021 Statutory Change: N/A

- Funds \$3,651,000 for the Driver Services Operating Account (DSOA) (special revenue fund) for staffing and operational needs.
- Funds \$3,742,000 for the Vehicle Services Operating Account (VSOA) (special revenue fund) for staffing and operational needs.

Driver Services Operation Account Appropriations – Exam Stations

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 5, HF 10, Article 1, section 4, subdivision 4(a)

Effective: July 1, 2021

Statutory Change: N/A

What you need to know:

- One-time appropriation of \$2,598,000 for each FY22 and FY23 to reopen all exam stations that were closed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
- Funding is not available for the public information center, general administration, or operational support.

Independent Expert Review of MNDRIVE

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 5, HF 10, Article 4, sections 144-145
Effective: Reports due February 1, 2022 and November 1, 2022
Statutory Change: N/A

- Intent is to examine the increase in work for deputy registrars and driver's license agents and appropriate compensation.
- Determine whether a permanent fee increase is warranted in 2022 or 2023 session.
- DVS must provide administrative support for the review team, access to MNDRIVE, and provide requested information to the review team.
- FAST must provide requested data and information to the review team.

Driver Services

Identification Cards for Released Inmates

 Reference: Regular Session: Laws of Minnesota 2021, Chapter 24, SF 519, section 1; Amends Minnesota Statutes, section 171.06, subdivision 3
 Effective: July 1, 2021

What you need to know:

• Adds a valid Department of Corrections or Federal Bureau of Prisons identification card, containing the applicant's full name, date of birth, and photograph, as an acceptable form of proof of identity in an application for an identification card, instruction permit, or driver's license as a secondary document.

Failure to Appear, Failure to Pay, Driving after Revocation, and Driving after Suspension

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 5, HF 10, Article 4, sections 67, 77-80, 84, 149.

Effective: January 1, 2022 (Sections 67, 77-80, 149) July 1, 2021 (Section 84)

Statutory Changes:

- Section 67 amends Minnesota Statutes, section 169.92, subdivision 4.
- Section 77 amends Minnesota Statutes, section 171.16, subdivision 2.
- Section 78 amends Minnesota Statutes, section 171.16, subdivision 3.
- Section 79 adds subdivision 7 to Minnesota Statutes, section 171.16.
- Section 80 amends Minnesota Statutes, section 171.18, subdivision 1.
- Section 84 adds Minnesota Statutes, section 171.325.

- <u>Section 67</u> Prohibits driver's license suspension based on failure to appear in court for a petty misdemeanor or driving after suspension (Minnesota Statutes, section 171.24, subdivision 1).
- <u>Section 77</u> Prohibits suspending a driver's license following a driving after suspension or driving after revocation conviction.
- <u>Section 78</u> Prohibits driver's license suspension based solely on a person's failure to pay a traffic ticket, parking fine, or surcharge following a conviction.

- <u>Section 79</u> Notwithstanding a general prohibition, DPS-DVS can suspend a driver's license in conformance with the nonresident violator compact (NRVC).
- <u>Section 80</u> Broadens ban on suspending a driver's license from prior violations and prohibits suspensions resulting from prior driving after revocation conviction.
- <u>Section 84</u> Annual report due Feb. 5, on driver's licenses issued, suspended, and revoked,
- <u>Section 149</u> Recodifies Minnesota Statutes, section 160.02, subdivision 27a as Minnesota Statutes, section 169.011, subdivision 73a.

Reinstatement Fees and Fee Stacking

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 5, HF 10, Article 4, sections 81, 83

Effective: March1, 2022, or upon completion of programming, whichever is earlier. The commissioner of public safety must notify the revisor of statutes of the date. August 1, 2021 for partial payment option (Minnesota Statutes, section 171.29, subdivision 2f.

Statutory Changes:

- Section 81 amends Minnesota Statutes, section 171.20, subdivision 4.
- Section 83 amends Minnesota Statutes, section 171.29, subdivision 2.

- <u>Section 81</u> Establishes that an individual with both a suspended and revoked driver's license pays the single reinstatement fee for revoked licenses.
- <u>Section 83</u> Establishes that only a single \$30 reinstatement fee is due. If owing multiple reinstatement fees must pay highest fee.
 - $\circ~$ If owing a \$680 and other lower reinstatement fees, just the one \$680 is owed.
 - If owing multiple \$680 fees, must pay for each \$680 owed.
 - Changes "handling fee" reference for fees collected by driver's license agents to filing fees.
 - Paragraph (f) expands partial payment of the \$680 reinstatement fee to all individuals. Individuals no longer need to be financially eligible for public defender to qualify.

Two-wheeled Vehicle Endorsement Fee

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 5, HF 10, Article 4, sections 68 and 74.

Effective: August 1, 2021 (both sections).

Statutory Changes:

- Section 68 amends Minnesota Statutes, section 171.06, subdivision 2a.
- Section 74 amends Minnesota Statutes, section 171.13, subdivision 6.

What you need to know:

Section 68

- First time motorcycle endorsement:
 - After Aug. 1, 2021, the motorcycle instruction permits will cost \$29:
 - \$19 to the Motorcycle Safety Fund (\$8 increase to MSF).
 - \$7.50 to the General Fund (no change).
 - \$2.50 examination fee (no change).
- Renewals:
 - After Aug. 1, 2021, the motorcycle renewal fee will cost \$17:
 - \$11 to the Motorcycle Safety Fund (\$4 increase to MSF).
 - \$6 to the General Fund (no change).

Section 74

• Changes language to reference fees prescribed in Minnesota Statutes, section 171.06, subdivision 2a. but keeps language for \$2.50 examination fee.

Anatomical Gift Technical Correction

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 5, HF 10, Article 4, section 69.

Effective: July 1, 2021.

Statutory Change: Amends Minnesota Statutes, section 171.06, subdivision 3.

What you need to know:

• Strikes "paragraph (d)" and adds "subdivision 3b, paragraph (e) to correct statute for accuracy.

Remote Application

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 5, HF 10, Article 4, section 70.

Effective: August 1, 2021, or upon completion of programming, whichever is earlier. The commissioner of public safety must notify the revisor of statutes of the date.

Statutory Change: Adds subdivision 11 to Minnesota Statutes, section 171.06.

- Process is similar to snowbird applications.
- Eligible applicants include:
 - Active duty military stationed outside of Minnesota.
 - Peace Corps volunteer serving outside of Minnesota.
 - Federal employee assigned foreign service outside of the U.S.
 - A person residing outside of Minnesota because the person is a spouse, domestic partner or dependent under 26 of the above.
- To qualify for remote applications, the applicant cannot:
 - Change name, date of birth, signature, or driver's license or identification number.
 - Change type of license or identification.
- Applicant must have a photo on file within last five years orthey must submit a photo that meets DPS-DVS photo requirements.
- For a driver's license:
 - Proof the applicant has passed a vision test completed within the last two years.
 - DPS-DVS vision form must be signed by a licensed physician or optometrist.
- For an expired Minnesota driver's license or identification card:
 - Credential must have expired within last five years.
 - Applicant obtained a license from another jurisdiction
 - Application includes surrender or invalidation of a valid driver's license issued by another jurisdiction
 - Most recent issuance cannot have been done as a remote application.
- Applicants are not required to:
 - Take a knowledge or road test.
 - Appear in person for an updated photo upon return.

Variance for Homebound Individuals

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 5, HF 10, Article 4, section 71.

Effective: July 1, 2021.

Statutory Change: Adds subdivision 4 to Minnesota Statutes, section 171.071.

What you need to know:

- Grants photo variances for standard identification cards (non-REAL ID) to homebound individuals if:
 - The applicant submits proof of being homebound.
 - DVS has a photo of the applicant taken within the last four years or the applicant submits a photo that meets the department's photo requirements.
 - Applicants that are granted a photo variance will not have to appear in person to have a new photo taken.
- Homebound is defined as unable to leave the individual's residence due to a medical, physical or mental health condition or infirmity as documented in writing by a physician, case worker or social worker.

DVS Data for Social Security Card Replacement Application

- Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 5, HF 10, Article 4, section 72.
- Effective: February 1, 2022, or upon completion of programming, whichever is earlier. The commissioner of public safety must notify the revisor of statutes of the date.

Statutory Change: Amends Minnesota Statutes, section 171.12, subdivision 7b.

What you need to know:

• Allows DPS-DVS to disseminate data as part of the online application for a replacement social security card with the Social Security Administration

Vision Examinations

- Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 5, HF 10, Article 4, section 73.
- Effective: Paragraph (a) August 1, 2021, or upon completion of programming, whichever is earlier. The commissioner of public safety must notify the revisor of statutes of the date. Paragraph (b) – July 1, 2021.

Statutory Change: Amends Minn. Minnesota Statutes, section 171.13, subdivision 1.

What you need to know:

- <u>Paragraph (a)</u> Adds language to an applicant's vision test to include a completed vision form if application was submitted remotely.
 - Already performed by DPS-DVS,
- <u>Paragraph (b)</u> DPS-DVS cannot deny a driver's license based on the applicant having diabetes.

"No Show" (repeat) Examination Fees

- Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 5, HF 10, Article 4, section 75.
- Effective: November 1, 2021, or upon completion of programming, whichever is earlier. The commissioner of public safety must notify the revisor of statutes of the date.

Statutory Change: Amends Minnesota Statutes, section 171.13, subdivision 7.

What you need to know:

• Adds a \$20 fee to application fees if the applicant fails to appear for a skills (road) test appointment or fails to cancel the appointment within 24 hours of the appointment time.

Online Knowledge Testing Proctor Requirements

- Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 5, HF 10, Article 4, section 76.
- Effective: August 1, 2021, or the day following the expiration of the peacetime emergency declared in Executive Order 20-01 and extended by subsequent executive orders (July 2, 2021).

Statutory Change: Amends Minnesota Statutes, section 171.13, subdivision 9.

What you need to know:

- Removes the at-home option for the knowledge test.
- Modifies proctor requirements for online knowledge testing for class D driver's licenses so proctors cannot be related to tester.

Driver's License Expiration Extension for Certain Applicants

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 5, HF 10, Article 4, section 82.

Effective: Aug. 1, 2021, or upon completion of programming, whichever is earlier. The commissioner of public safety must notify the revisor of statutes of the date.

Statutory Change: Amends Minnesota Statutes, section 171.27.

What you need to know:

• Changes the driver's license expiration date extension to include individuals serving in the Peace Corps outside of Minnesota and federal employees while assigned to foreign service (includes spouses, domestic partners, children and dependents under 26 years of age.

Rulemaking; Medical Providers

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 5, HF 10, Article 4, section 130.
Effective: Day following final enactment (June 27, 2021).
Statutory Change: N/A.

- Requires DPS-DVS to engage in rulemaking to add additional medical providers to the existing rule.
- Authorizes additional medical providers to complete the medical statement.
- Authorizes expedited rulemaking.

School Bus Knowledge Test Availability

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 5, HF 10, Article 4, section 135.
Effective: Day following final enactment (June 27, 2021).
Statutory Change: N/A.

What you need to know:

- Requires DPS-DVS to prioritize school bus knowledge testing time slots above class D knowledge tests.
- School bus knowledge testing must be readily available across the state.
- Expires Dec.31, 2021.

Legislative Report on Exam Station Expenditures

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 5, HF 10, Article 4, section 139.
Effective: Reports due January15, 2023 and January 15, 2024.
Statutory Change: N/A

What you need to know:

- Requires DPS-DVS to report expenditures provided in Article 1, Section 4, Subdivision 4, paragraph (a).
- Includes expenditure information and financial details for the prior fiscal year.

Driver's License Same-Day Issuance Pilot Project

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 5, HF 10, Article 4, section 141.

Effective: October 1, 2022.

Report due January 1, 2024.

Statutory Change: N/A.

- Establishes a pilot project in Lakeville and Moorhead for same day issuance of standard driver's licenses and identification cards.
- The pilot is open to any driver's license agent in either city that requests to participate.
- Cards must be processed and produced at the site of the application and cannot require applicants to go to other location to receive the card.
- Pilot participants cannot provide temporary licenses or cards.

- DPS-DVS must provide pilot participants' with the necessary equipment to process and produce the cards.
- DPS-DVS must provide a report on the pilot project to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over transportation policy and finance by Jan. 1, 2024.
- At minimum the report must:
 - Describe the pilot project and locations of the pilot project participants.
 - How many noncompliant licenses, instruction permits or identification cards were processed during the pilot project.
 - Information or feedback from the participants about the pilot project.
 - Recommendation on whether the issuance of same day cards should be expanded statewide.

Repealer – Rules Governing Driving Privileges for People with Diabetes

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 5, HF 10, Article 4, section 151.

Effective: Paragraph (d) – July 1, 2021.

Statutory Changes: Paragraph (d) repeals Minnesota rule 7410.2610, subdivision 1, 2, 3, 3a, 5a, 5b, and 6. Also repeals Minnesota rule 7414.1490

What you need to know:

- Eliminates administrative rules governing driving privileges for a person diagnosed with diabetes or loss of voluntary consciousness/control due to hypoglycemia or hyperglycemia.
- Eliminates the issuance of DPS-DVS diabetes waivers for cardholders with a school bus endorsement.

Identification Card for Homeless Youth

- Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 7, HF 33, Article 3, section 40.
- Effective: Day following final enactment (June 30, 2021) for applications and issuance of Minnesota ID cards on and after January 1, 2022.

Statutory Changes: Adds subdivision 3b to Minnesota Statutes, section 171.07.

- Establishes noncompliant identification card for homeless youth (as defined in 256K.45(1a), as long as the applicant provides their:
 - Full name, date of birth, sex, height, weight and eye color.

- Certified copy of birth certificate.
- Statement verifying that the applicant is a homeless youth who resides in Minnesota and the statement is signed by:
 - An employee of a human services agency that receives public funding to provide services for homeless youth or, .
 - Staff at a school that provides services to homeless youth or a school social worker.
- DPS-DVS cannot charge the applicant a fee.

Elimination of DWI Knowledge (Written) Exam

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 11, HF 63, Article 2, sections 2 and 7.

Effective: July 1, 2021.

Statutory Changes:

- Section 2 amends Minnesota Statutes, section 169A.55, subdivision 2.
- Section 7 amends Minnesota Statutes, section 171.29, subdivision 1.

What you need to know:

Section 2

• Removes the DWI knowledge test requirement.

Section 7

• A person is no longer required to successfully pass an examination for a revocation due to an impaired driving offense.

Reinstatement of Driving Privileges; Multiple Incidents

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 11, HF 63, Article 2, section 3.

Effective: For revocations occurring on or after August 1, 2021.

Statutory Changes: Amends Minnesota Statutes, section 169A.55, subdivision 4.

- A person whose driving privileges were revoked must enroll in the Ignition Interlock Device Program (IDDP) unless they did not own or lease a vehicle at the time of the offense or any time between the time of the offense and the driver's request for reinstatement.
- Person must enroll in IIDP unless the person used IIDP:
 - For one year:

- Revocations due to one offense in 10 years.
- Offense occurring after two qualified prior impaired driving incidents.
- For two years:
 - Above incidents where blood alcohol content (BAC) is twice the legal limit or more.
 - Above incident and refusal to submit a chemical test.
- Removed language about establishing performance standards and process for certifying chemical monitoring device.

Special Impoundment License Plates

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 11, HF 63, Article 2, sections 4-6.

Effective: Sections 4, 5 – July 1, 2021.

Section 6 – July 1, 2021.

Statutory Changes:

- Section 4 amends Minnesota Statutes, section 169A.60, subdivision 2.
- Section 5 amends Minnesota Statutes, section 169A.60, subdivision 3.
- Section 6 amends Minnesota Statutes, section 169A.60, subdivision 13.

What you need to know:

- <u>Section 4</u> –Requires DPS-DVS to issue plate impoundment order to individual with special plates who violates the terms of the ignition interlock device program (IIDP).
- <u>Section 5</u>
 - An impound notice is deemed received three days after the mailing date of impoundment notification.
 - Added the address provided when the person becomes a program participant in the ignition interlock program.
- <u>Section 6</u>:
 - Upon request, DPS-DVS is required to issue new registration plates to a vehicle with plates subject to impoundment or with special plates (WX plates) if the individual is enrolled in the IIDP and pays a \$100 fee.
 - An impoundt order will be issued for new registration plates if the individual:
 - Voluntarily or involuntarily withdraws from IIDP for more than 30 days.
 - Fails to successfully complete IIDP as required by DPS-DVS due to:
 - Two or more IIDP violations.
 - Violating terms of the contract with the provider.

• A person does not need to pay an additional \$50 for special registration (impound) plates if they paid \$100 for new plates and IIDP enrollment and has since withdrawn from IIDP.

Removal of Limited License

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 11, HF 63, Article 2, section 8.

Effective: July 1, 2021.

Statutory Changes: Amends Minnesota Statutes, section 171.30, subdivision 1.

What you need to know:

- Removes issuance of limited license for:
 - Test refusal or failure with 2-4 incidents in 10 years if enrolled in IIDP.
 - Revoked for DWI conviction, if enrolled in IIDP.

Ignition Interlock Device Manufacturers

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 11, HF 63, Article 2, section 9.

Effective: July 1, 2021.

Statutory Changes: Amends Minnesota Statutes, section 171.306, subdivision 2.

What you need to know:

• Manufacturers must pay towing and repair costs caused by device malfunction or damage due to installation, servicing or monitoring.

Issuance of Restricted License

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 11, HF 63, Article 2, section 10.
Effective: July 1, 2021.

Statutory Changes: Amends Minnesota Statutes, section 171.306, subdivision 4.

- Removes requirement for written proof of insurance or insurance card but retains insurance policy requirement.
- Requires a person to complete the program if recommended for treatment or rehabilitation program.
- Removes limited license requirement.
- Extends time in ignition interlock device pProgram (IDP) if blood alcohol content was above 0.02 instead of canceling the person's driving privileges.

Vehicle Services

Loss of Highway User Tax Distribution (HUTD) Fund Appropriations

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 5, HF 10, Article 4, section 11.
Effective: July 1, 2025.

Statutory Change: Adds Minnesota Statutes, section 161.045.

What you need to know:

• DPS-DVS can no longer use HUTD funds to pay for the manufacturing of license plates.

Motor Vehicle Registration Self-Service Kiosks and Report

- Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 5, HF 10, Article 4, sections 29 and 136.
- Effective: Day following final enactment (June 27, 2021). Report due December 1, 2022.

Statutory Change: Adds Minnesota Statutes, section 168.0135.

- Provides for the implementation of self-service kiosks to process vehicle registration renewals.
- Kiosks can be used for registration renewals only (i.e. stickers no license plates).
- Kiosks can collect the annual contribution for special license plates.
- Kosks can process requests for duplicate plates (plates will be mailed to the customer).
- Deputy registrars can charge up to \$5 as a convenience fee for each kiosk transaction.
- Filing fees at kiosks will be the same filing fees for transactions conducted in person.
- DPS-DVS must report to the legislature on self-service kiosks by Dec. 22, 2022. The report must include:
 - Number of completed transactions at kiosks.
 - \circ $\;$ Number of failed or canceled transactions at kiosks.
 - Location of each kiosk and the name of business or entity operating at that address.
 - \circ Recommendations to improve the use of self-service kiosks.

Expansion of Veteran License Plates

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 5, HF 10, Article 4, section 30
 Effective: July 1, 2021
 Statutory Change: Amends Minnesota Statutes, section 168.12(1)

What you need to know:

Removes the 7-year replacement requirement for passenger vehicles that display American Legion or VFW license plates. The plates are now issued for the lifetime of the vehicle.

License Plate Fee Increase

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 5, HF 10, Article 4, section 31.

Effective: August 1, 2021.

Statutory Change: Amends Minnesota Statutes, section 168.12, subdivision 5.

What you need to know:

• Increases license plate fees.

License Plate	Single	Double
Regular and Disability	\$13.50	\$15.50
Special	\$13.50	\$15.50
Personalized (replacement)	\$13.50	\$15.50
Collector Category	\$13.60	\$15.50

- Increases duplicate sticker fee to \$1.50.
- DPS-DVS will process old fees for mail transactions postmarked before Aug. 1.

Minnesota 100 Club Plates

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 5, HF 10, Article 4, section 32.

Effective: January 1, 2022.

Statutory Change: Adds Minnesota Statutes, section 168.1284.

- Establishes Minnesota 100 Club license plates.
- Includes \$40 annual contribution to Minnesota 100 Club account.

Minnesota Agriculture Plates

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 5, HF 10, Article 4, section 33.

Effective: January 1, 2022.

Statutory Change: Adds Minnesota Statutes, section168.1285.

What you need to know:

- Establishes Minnesota Agriculture license plates.
- Includes \$20 annual contribution to the Minnesota agriculture account.
- Funds are distributed to the Minnesota FFA Foundation and University of Minnesota Extension Service to support 4-H.

Honorary Consul Plates

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 5, HF 10, Article 4, section 34.

Effective: January 1, 2022.

Statutory Change: Adds Minnesota Statutes, section168.1286.

What you need to know:

- Establishes honorary consul license plates.
- Applies to passenger vehicles, noncommercial one-ton pickups, trucks, motorcycles and recreational vehicles owned by the honorary consul.
- Applicant must be recognized as an honorary consular official appointed by the respective government to serve in Minnesota.
- Applicant must provide a letter from the Minnesota Consular Corps.

Motor Vehicles of Certain Nonresidents and Temporary Trip Permits

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 5, HF 10, Article 4, sections 35-36.

Effective: July 1, 2021.

Statutory Change: Amends Minnesota Statutes, section 168.183 and Minnesota Statutes, section 168.187, subdivision 17.

- Fees established in Minnesota Statutes 168.01, subdivision 1e.
- Revises the cost for a 120-hour trip permit from \$15 to 1/12 of the annual amount of registration tax imposed on trucks and tractors rounded to nearest whole dollar.
- No more than one permit can be issued in a 30-day period.

Cross-reference for \$10 Title Transfer Fee for Vehicles Weighing More than 1,000 Pounds

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 5, HF 10, Article 4, section 37.

Effective: July 1, 2021.

Statutory Change: Amends Minnesota Statutes, section168.301, subdivision 1.

What you need to know:

• Cross-references Minnesota Statutes, section115A.908 for the \$10 title transfer fee on vehicles weighing more than 1,000 pounds.

Partial Payment for Registration

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 5, HF 10, Article 4, section 38.

Effective: July 1, 2021.

Statutory Change: Amends Minnesota Statutes, section168.31, subdivision 4.

What you need to know:

- Applies to partial payment for trucks, farm trucks, RV and trailers when the registration tax due is more than \$400.
- Specifies after the initial payment is made the first and second installment due dates are July 1 and Nov. 1.

Deputy Registrar Service Fee for Dealers

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 5, HF 10, Article 4, sections 43-44.

Effective: July 1, 2021.

Statutory Change: Amends Minnesota Statutes, section 168A.11, subdivision 1 and Minnesota Statutes, section 168A.11, subdivision 2.

What you need to know:

• Changes variable service fee to \$7 as the amount that a deputy registrar can charge a dealer to handle DPS-DVS notifications of vehicles sold out of state (Section 43), and notification of vehicles held for resale (Section 44).

Transfer of Motor Vehicle Mileage; Mileage Disclosure

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 5, HF 10, Article 4, section 106.
 Effective: Day following final enactment (June 27, 2021).

Statutory Change: Amends Minnesota Statutes, section325E.15

What you need to know:

- Brings Minnesota into compliance with federal regulations, Code of Federal Regulations, title 49, sections 580.1-580.17, on odometer disclosure.
- Allows electronic mileage reporting.

Salvage Title Task Force

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 5, HF 10, Article 4, section 147.

Effective: Day following final enactment (June 27, 2021).

Statutory Change: N/A

What you need to know:

- Establishes a salvage title task force to evaluate issues related to salvage certificates of title and make any recommendations for legislative changes.
 - \circ $\;$ The task force consists of two house members and two senate members.
- Legislative report due to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over transportation finance and policy by Jan. 31, 2022

Manufactured Homes Affixed to Real Property

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 8, HF 4, Article 3, sections 1, 2, and 5

Effective: August 1, 2021

Statutory Change: Minnesota Statutes, section 168A.141 repealed and replaced with Minnesota Statutes, section 168A.1411 and Minnesota Statutes, section 168A.1412

What you need to know:

Section 1

- When a manufactured home is affixed to real property owned by a Minnesota non-profit or cooperative, the owner may surrender the certificate of origin or title.
- Submit Affidavit of Affixation (new form).
- Security interests must be released or satisfied before the certificate of origin or title is surrendered.

Section 2

- Upon surrender of the certificate of origin or title by the manufactured home's owner, the home is an improvement to real property and not titled as personal property.
- If the title is lost, stolen, mutilated, destroyed, or illegible, the owner may submit a written request for cancellation with the manufactured home's serial number and statement of title condition. The certificate of title or duplicate is not required for the transaction.
- Submit Affidavit of Affixation (new form).
- Security interests must be released or satisfied before the certificate of origin or title is surrendered.

Section 5

• Minnesota Statutes, section 168A.141 repealed and replaced with Minnesota Statutes, section 168A.1411 and Minnesota Statutes, section 168A.1412.

Legal Affairs

Records Subscriptions and Data Request Fees

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 5, HF 10, Article 4, sections 39-42.

Effective: August1, 2021 or upon completion of programming, whichever is earlier. The commissioner of public safety must notify the revisor of statutes of the date.

Statutory Changes:

- Amends Minnesota Statutes, section 168.327, subdivision 1.
- Adds subdivision 5a to Minnesota Statutes, section 168.327.
- Adds subdivision 5b to Minnesota Statutes, section 168.327.
- Amends Minnesota Statutes, section 168.327(6).

- <u>Section 39</u> Adds subdivisions 5a and 5b, subscription and records fees.
- <u>Section 40</u> Establishes the vehicle records subscription service of \$3,680 a month and credited to the vehicle services operating account (consistent with driver services).
 - Requested vehicle records are charged \$0.02 per record, and credited to the vehicle services operating account (20 percent), data security account (30 percent) and DPS-DVS technology account (50 percent).
- <u>Section 41</u> Establishes that custom data requests of 1,000 or more vehicle title records, vehicle registration records or driver's license records are charged at \$0.02 per record, and credited to the driver services operating account and vehicle services operating account (20 percent), data security account (30 percent) and DVS technology account (50 percent).
- <u>Section 42</u> Establishes the performance of an annual audit on use of data and procedures.

Repealer – Bulk Vehicle Records and Citizen's Crash Report

- Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 5, HF 10, Article 4, section 151.
- Effective: Paragraph (b) August 1, 2021, or upon completion of programming, whichever is earlier. The commissioner of public safety must notify the revisor of statutes of the date.

Paragraph (c) – July 1, 2021.

Statutory Changes:

- Paragraph (b) repeals Minnesota Statutes, section 168.327, subdivision 5.
- Paragraph (c) repeals Minnesota Statutes, section 169.09, subdivision 7.

- Paragraph (b) repeals fee setting provision for bulk vehicle records.
- Paragraph (c) eliminates the citizen's crash report.