

COVID-19 Deputy Registrar Weekly Meeting Notes

April 7, 2020

Stay at Home Order Extended

Governor Walz extended the stay at home order to May 4. DVS will evaluate how this impacts DVS services.

Deputy registrar offices that are open for limited services are prohibited from providing over the counter, face to face service. It is permissible for deputy offices to process transactions by mail, drop-box, or back office transactions without submitting a variance request during the duration of this order.

Thank you to the 110 deputy registrar offices currently providing services to assist the residents of Minnesota. We will continue to provide regular updates.

Password Expirations

Passwords for Fast DS and MNLARS reset every 90 days. If your password expires while you are away from work, you will need to follow the regular steps to rest your password.

Applications for Disability Certificates.

At this time, DVS staff is working from home and unable to process applications submitted by mail. If you are able, please process applications for disability certificates through Fast DS.

DVS Records

Regular data practices apply during the stay at home order. If your office is closed you may not access DVS records.

Registration Renewals

<u>Mail Charges</u>: Deputy registrars who mail inventory to customers are required by <u>Minnesota Rules 7406.0500</u> to send it first class U.S. mail, unless the customer requests other special services. Deputy registrars may not charge the customer to mail the inventory unless the customer requests special delivery.

<u>No renewal notice</u>. The customer may provide a note with the information needed to renew the registration such as name, plate number, VIN, etc. You may accept a copy of a driver's license as proof of identify, however, be sure to follow safe data practices and dispose of the copy in a secure manner.

<u>Credit cards</u>. You may collect credit card information over the phone, email, or fax. Be sure to follow safe data practices and destroy any written/printed material with the credit card information in a secure manner.

<u>Change of Address</u>. You may change the customer's address. You may accept a copy of a driver's license as proof of identify, however, be sure to follow safe data practices and dispose of the copy in a secure manner.

REAL ID Changes

DVS has updated the materials and information on the <u>DVS website</u> to reflect the new federal enforcement date of Oct. 1, 2021 and the recent legislative changes to REAL ID proof of residency documents. Information on Info Hub is being updated and changes to Fast DS and the pre-app have been made.

The monthly training series presented by Todd and Brian is addressing those changes on April 22 and April 23. For training schedule and login information refer to the April 7, DVS Weekly Update.

Vision Machines

Vision exams are required by law and cannot be waived. To clean the vision machines:

• Only use alcohol wipes to clean the headrest and the lenses to prevent damage. You can purchase headrest tissues from Stereo Optical. Cost is \$57 for 5,000 tissues; item number is 2000207.

To order:

- Visit the Stereo Optical website
- o Call 1-800-344-9500

You can use Clorox wipes or other spray cleaners to clean casing and mounting brackets. Do not use abrasive cleaners.

Seasonal CDL (Farm) Licenses

Current CDL holders with a seasonal CDL restriction can apply for a duplicate license and update their seasonal timeline online at drive.mn.gov.

The CDL holder will need to complete the online application and pay the duplicate license fee. A new photo and vision screening is not required.

CDL holders are eligible for this if they:

- Currently hold a commercial license with a seasonal farm restriction.
- Are in good standing.
- Have lived in Minnesota for the past two years and have been in good standing during that time.
- Are **not** currently enrolled in temporary stay.
- Do now have a private address on file.
- Have a valid, non-expired medical certificate on file with DVS.
- The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration extended the expiration of medical examiner certificate that expire on or after March 1 to June 30.

Customers may apply at a deputy registrar/driver's license agent. However, you cannot do face to face, over the counter services.

CDL Waivers - Med Certs

The federal government has extended all medical certificates and waivers that expired after March 1, 2020 to June 30, 2020. Medical certificates filed with DVS that originally expired between March 1, 2020 and June 29, 2020 have been extended to June 30, 2020 in Fast DS. For more information, refer to the CDL waivers document on Info Hub.

Status Checks

We are looking into the impact of the expiration extensions to status checks. Watch for more information in the days ahead.

DVS Turnaround - These are also listed on Info Hub and updated weekly.

- Online Tab Renewals: Current
- Renewals processed by DHS: Current. However, any renewal that cannot be processed is sent to DVS for processing. Those kick-outs are not being processed at this time. A common reason a renewal cannot be processed is because the payment submitted isn't equal to the total amount due.
- Mail Transactions: Application mailed to DVS is not being processed during this time as we do not have staff in the office.
- Deputy Registrar transactions submitted before March 28.
- Out of state titles: Oldest work Feb. 28
- Minnesota Titles: Oldest work Feb. 20
- MCO: Oldest work March 11
- Disability Plates: Oldest work March 24
- Other Special Plates: Oldest work March 23
- Disability certificates submitted by mail are not being processed at this time.