Passenger

Driver and Vehicle Services Info Hub

Motor vehicle and drivers license information
 

Passenger Class

Registration in the Passenger Class:

  • Passenger automobiles, which are any motor vehicles (including hearses) designed and used for the carrying of not more than 15 persons including the driver. This includes motor vehicles that have previously been registered in BY class but have been redesigned to carry less than 16 persons including the driver. Reference: Minnesota Statutes 168.002 subd. 24

  • Pickup trucks with a manufacturer's nominal rated carrying capacity of 3/4 ton or less. (See Rated Capacity Chart below). Reference: Minnesota Statutes 168.002 subd. 26

  • Cargo vans, which means any vehicle of box-like design with no barrier or separation between the operator's area and the remainder of the cargo-carrying area, and with a manufacturer's nominal rated carrying capacity of 3/4 ton or less. (See Rated Capacity Chart below). Reference: Minnesota Statutes 168.002, subd 40 and commonly known as a van.

What is NOT registered in the Passenger Class:

  • 1-ton cargo vans must be registered as a truck in the "Y" class

  • 1-ton passenger vans designed to carry 16 passengers or more must be registered in the bus (BY) class

  • Passenger vans designed to carry more than 10 passengers, including driver, owned by a nonprofit organization, not operated for hire or commercial use must be registered in the bus (BY) class

  • Motorcycles and motor scooters.

How do you determine Rated Capacity?

If your customer doesn't know the vehicle's rated capacity, this can sometimes be determined by the series logo on the side of the cab.
  • Older pickups may not have this logo
  • Toyota is not distinguishable, but 1 ton vehicles have a sticker on the fender in front of the door.
Make
Series
Rated Capacity
 
Make
Series
Rated Capacity
Chev
10
1/2 ton
 
Dodge
150
1/2 ton
 
20
3/4 ton
 
 
250
3/4 ton
 
30
1 ton
 
 
350
1 ton
GMC
10
1/2 ton
 
Ford
150
1/2 ton
 
20
3/4 ton
 
 
250
3/4 ton
 
30
1 ton
 
 
350
1 ton
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Registration Period - Monthly Series of Registration for Passenger Vehicles
Reference: Minnesota Statutes 168.017

 

Initial Registration

Reference: Minnesota Statutes 168.013

Minnesota has an ad valorem system of taxation for passenger vehicles.

  • The tax is $10 plus an additional tax equal to 1.25 percent of the manufacturer's base value (manufacturer's suggested retail price plus destination charge).

  • Tax is computed upon a percentage of the base value as follows: 100 percent for first year of vehicle life, 90 percent for second year, 80 percent for third, 70 percent for fourth, etc.

  • Minimum tax for a vehicle is $25.

To determine passenger registration tax:

  1. Establish the base value of the vehicle using the base value guide books. If using the online base value guide, enter the first 10 characters of the vehicle identification number (VIN). If the system is unable to provide you with a result, use the MSRP (manufacturer's suggested retail price) plus destination charge. Do not include the cost of accessory items or optional vehicle equipment.

  2. Determine the beginning month of taxation, based on the date of first registration

  3. Locate instructions and the proper month/year tax table in the Tax Manual and find the correct base value bracket. Move right to the proper model year column. That is the tax due.