

Legislative Bulletin 2019

This bulletin summarizes laws enacted during the 2019 legislative session that impact and are of interest to DVS and its partners. Procedural information will be provided by your supervisor or manager.

Procedural information for deputy registrars and driver's license agents will be provided in July 2019 on Info Hub and in future bulletins.

- Driver Services
- Support Services
- Vehicle Services
- Multiple Areas
- Other Items of Interest

Driver Services

Increased Credential Fees

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2019, Chapter 3, HF 6, Article 2, section 30; Amends

Minn. Stat. § 171.06, subdivision 2

Effective: August 1, 2019

- From August 1, 2019 through June 30, 2022 fees for the following credential increase by \$4.50 to:
 - o REAL ID or noncompliant class: D, \$21.75; C, \$25.75; B, \$32.75; and A, \$40.75
 - Under 21 REAL ID or noncompliant class: D, \$21.75; C, \$25.75; B, \$32.75; and A, \$20.75
 - o Enhanced class: D, \$36.75; C, \$40.75; B, \$47.75; and A, \$55.75
- Effective July 1, 2022 the fees for these same credentials are:

- o REAL ID or noncompliant class: D, \$21.00; C, \$25.00; B, \$32.00; and A, \$40.00
- Under 21 REAL ID or noncompliant class: D, \$21.00; C, \$25.00; B, \$32.00; and A, \$20.00
- o Enhanced class: D, \$36.00; C, \$40.00; B, \$47.00; and A, \$55.00
- Effective August 1, 2019 there is a \$2.25 technology surcharge for all credentials

The fees listed above do not include the \$8.00 filing fee prescribed in Minn. Stat. § 171.061, subdivision 4

Restricted Farm License

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2019, Chapter 3, HF 6, Article 3, section 73; Amends

Minn. Stat. § 171.041

Effective: June 1, 2019

What you need to know:

- An individual with a restricted farm license can operate a vehicle within a radius of 40 miles of a parent or guardians farmhouse
- An individual with a restricted farm license may perform farm work for any authorized farm entity under Minn. Stat. § 500.24

Emergency Contacts

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2019, Chapter 3, HF 6, Article 3, sections 74 and 76;

Amends Minn. Stat. §§ 171.06, subdivision 3 and 171.12

Effective: July 1, 2020 or upon completion of necessary programming to FastDS;

whichever is earlier

What you need to know:

- An applicant for a driver's license, instruction permit, or identification card may request that
 the department electronically maintain the names and contact information for up to three
 emergency contacts for the applicant
- The emergency contact information will be on the driver's record and available to law enforcement agencies so they may notify the emergency contacts regarding an emergency

Autism Spectrum or Mental Health Designator

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2019, Chapter 3, HF 6, Article 3, section 75; Amends

Minn. Stat. § 171.07

Effective: July 1, 2020 or upon completion of necessary programming to FastDS;

whichever is earlier

- Upon written request by an applicant for a driver's license or identification card DVS will include an autism spectrum or mental health identifier on the credential
- The request for the identifier must be made at the time the photograph or electronically produced image is taken
- No specific medical information will be contained on the driver's license or identification card

Third-Party Testing of School Bus Drivers

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2019, Chapter 3, HF 6, Article 3, section 77; Creates Minn.

Stat. § 171.3213

Effective: August 1, 2019

What you need to know:

 DVS must approve agreements between school bus companies who own or operate school buses and other school bus companies that test the other companies school bus driver employees

Commercial Driver's License Federal Regulation Waiver

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2019, Chapter 3, HF 6, Article 3, section 127

Effective: June 1, 2019

What you need to know:

• DVS must apply for a federal waiver to allow for exemption of having a passenger endorsement for the sole purpose of delivering a bus to the bus purchaser

Reinstatement fees for Failure to Pay and Failure to Appear

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2019, Chapter 5, SF 8, Article 3, section 4; Amends Minn.

Stat. § 171.20, subdivision 4

Effective: August 1, 2019

What you need to know:

• The \$20.00 reinstatement fees collected under Minn. Stat. §§ 171.16.3 (failure to pay) and 171.18.1(10) (failure to appear) are no longer deposited to the POST Board, rather these fees are deposited into the general fund

Driver Diversion Program (DDP) Permanent

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2019, Chapter 5, SF 8, Article 6, section 5; Creates Minn.

Stat. § 171.2405

Effective: July 1, 2019

What you need to know:

- The DDP is permanent
- The DDP is open to all cities and counties
- DPS will no longer approve cities and counties for participation in the DDP
- A court may require an individual to participate in the DDP

Support Services

Medical Statement from Licensed Therapists for Parking Privileges for Physically Disabled Persons

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2019, Chapter 3, HF 211; Amends Minn. Stat. § 169.345,

subdivision 2

Effective: August 1, 2019 What you need to know:

• Licensed physical therapists are added to the list of health professionals who can provide a medical statement to obtain a disability parking permit or disability plates for physically disabled persons

Driver Records Subscription Service

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2019, Chapter 3, HF 6, Article 2, section 25; Amends

Minn. Stat. § 168.327, subdivision 4

Effective: August 1, 2019

- The fee for a driver records subscription service increases from \$0.01 to \$0.02 per driver record requested
- 20% of fees collected are credited to the driver services operating account, 30% to the data security account, and 50% to the driver and vehicle services technology account

Bulk Vehicle Records Requests

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2019, Chapter 3, HF 6, Article 2, section 26; Amends

Minn. Stat. § 168.327, subdivision 5

Effective: August 1, 2019

What you need to know:

• The fee for bulk vehicle records requests (1,000 or more vehicle title records and vehicle registration records) increases from \$0.01 to \$0.02 per record requested

• 20% of fees collected are credited to the vehicle services operating account, 30% to the data security account, and 50% to the driver and vehicle services technology account

Dealer Access to Vehicle Registration Data

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2019, Chapter 3, HF 6, Article 3, section 26; Amends

Minn. Stat. § 168.346, subdivision 1

Effective: August 1, 2019

What you need to know:

• Licensed dealers may obtain data for uses as permitted by 18 U.S.C. 2721(b)(2), (3), and (13)

Vehicle Services

Technology Surcharge on Vehicle Registrations

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2019, Chapter 3, HF 6, Article 2, sections 1 and 29;

Amends Minn. Stat. § 168.013 subdivision 21; 168A.29, subdivision 1

Effective: August 1, 2019

What you need to know:

• There is a surcharge of \$2.25 for each transaction, including vehicle registration renewals, applications for original title, and duplicate title

Increased Plate Fees

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2019, Chapter 3, HF 6, Article 2, sections 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8,

9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, and 28; Amends

Minn. Stat. §§ 168.10, subdivision 1g; 168.105, subdivision 5; 168.12,

subdivisions 2, 2b, 2c, 2d, 2e, 2g, and 5; 168.121, subdivision 1; 168.123,

subdivision 1; 168.1235, subdivision 1; 168.1255, subdivision 1; 168.1256,

subdivision 1; 168.128, subdivision 2; 168.1282, subdivision 1; 168.1291, subdivision 4; 168.1294, subdivision 1; 168.1295, subdivision 1; 168.1296, subdivision 1; 168.1297, subdivision 1; 168.1298, subdivision 1; 168.1299, subdivision 1; 168.62, subdivision 3

Effective: August 1, 2019

What you need to know:

- The fees for license plates and stickers issued on and after August 1, 2019 and before July 1, 2022 are:
 - o Regular and Disability: \$6.00 for a single; \$8.00 for a double
 - o Special: \$11.00 for a single; \$12.50 for a double
 - o Personalized (replacement): \$12.50 for a single; \$16.50 for a double
 - o Collector Category: \$16.00 for a single; \$17.50 for a double
 - o Emergency Vehicle Display: \$3.00 for a single; \$6.00 for a double
 - o Utility Trailer Self-Adhesive: \$2.50 for a single
 - o Vertical Motorcycle Plate Stickers: \$100.00 for a single
 - o Duplicate Year: \$1.50 for a single; \$1.50 for a double
 - o International Fuel Tax Agreement: \$2.50 for a single
- The fees for license plates and stickers issued on and after July 1, 2022 are:
 - o Regular and Disability: \$5.25 for a single; \$7.00 for a double
 - o Special: \$10.00 for a single; \$11.50 for a double
 - o Personalized (replacement): \$11.50 for a single; \$15.50 for a double
 - o Collector Category: \$15.00 for a single; \$16.50 for a double
 - o Emergency Vehicle Display: \$3.00 for a single; \$6.00 for a double
 - o Utility Trailer Self-Adhesive: \$2.50 for a single
 - o Vertical Motorcycle Plate Stickers: \$100.00 for a single
 - o Duplicate Year: \$1.25for a single; \$1.25 for a double
 - o International Fuel Tax Agreement: \$2.50 for a single

Vehicle Registration Filing Fee Increase

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2019, Chapter 3, HF 6, Article 2, section 27; Amends

Minn. Stat. § 168.33, subdivision 7

Effective: August 1, 2019

- \$7.00 filing fee for every vehicle registration renewal
- \$11.00 filing fee for all other types of vehicle transaction

Information Technology Auditor

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2019, Chapter 3, HF 6, Article 2, section 32; Amends Laws

2018, chapter 101, section 3, subdivision 1

Effective: August 1, 2019

What you need to know:

• The legislative auditor must appoint an information technology auditor to monitor and report on the development and implementation of MNLARS and the replacement system

Vehicle Title and Registration System (VTRS)

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2019, Chapter 3, HF 6, Article 2, sections 33 and 35

Effective: May 31, 2019

What you need to know:

- Requires expedited procurement process to execute the recommendations in the Independent Expert Review of MNLARS dated May 1, 2019
- Requires stakeholder consultation during implementation of the VTRS
- MNLARS update 1.16 will be the final update to the system; except for changes required by legislation during the 2019 session which must be completed by August 1, 2019
- Defines the roles of DPS and MN.IT regarding the VTRS
- Requires, wherever possible, business practices be changed to conform to VTRS in order to minimize the need for customizing VTRS; the Driver and Vehicle Executive Steering Committee must make recommendations on requests to customize the VTRS
- Establishes timeline for implementation and launch of the VTRS and decommission date for MNLARS and the legacy system
- The Driver and Vehicle Systems Oversight Committee, as defined in statute, must oversee the implementation of the VTRS

Vehicle Registration Task Force

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2019, Chapter 3, HF 6, Article 2, section 38

Effective: May 31, 2019 and expires after submission of the required report or on January

16, 2020, whichever is latest

What you need to know:

• Establishes the Vehicle Registration Task Force

• Defines the duties of the Vehicle Registration Task Force

- The Vehicle Registration Task Force must submit a report by January 15, 2020 that includes a summary of activities, explain how each method examine could be implemented in a revenue neutral manner, provide recommendations on which method is preferable and why, and draft legislation to implement recommendations
- The Vehicle Registration Task Force must meet once by July 1, 2019

Base Value Determination by Dealers

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2019, Chapter 3, HF 6, Article 3, section 19; Amends

Minn. Stat. § 168.013, subdivision 1a

Effective: July 1, 2019 and expires June 30, 2022

What you need to know:

- A licensed dealer may opt to use the MSRP provided by a manufacturer to determine the base value of a new vehicle sold or leased by the dealer
- DVS must use the base value provided by the dealer to classify the vehicle
- The dealer must retain a copy of the MSRP label or other supporting documentation with vehicle transaction records maintained under Minn. R. 7400.5200

Decommissioned Military Vehicles

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2019, Chapter 3, HF 6, Article 3, sections 21 and 27;

Amends Minn. Stat. § 168.10, subdivision 1h; 168A.02, subdivision 1

Effective: August 1, 2019

What you need to know:

- Decommissioned military vehicles manufactured and sold as a comparable civilian vehicle and that has the same size dimensions and vehicle weight as a comparable civilian vehicle is eligible for a title under Minn. Stat. Ch. 168A.
- This vehicle type is subject to the same registration, insurance, equipment, and operating requirements as a motor vehicle

Dealer Title and Registration Liaison

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2019, Chapter 3, HF 6, Article 3, section 24; Amends

Minn. Stat. § 168.27

Effective: August 1, 2019

What you need to know:

• DVS must designate by name and provide contact information for one or more staff to promptly and effectively respond to questions from dealers and troubleshoot dealer issues related to vehicle tilting and registration

Electronic Transmission of Vehicle Title Transfer and Registration Information

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2019, Chapter 3, HF 6, Article 3, section 25; Amends

Minn. Stat. § 168.33, subdivision 8a

Effective: Upon full implementation of the VTRS

What you need to know:

• DVS must establish reasonable performance, security, technical, and financial standards to approve companies that provide computer software and services to dealers to electronically transmit vehicle title transfer and registration information

• DVS must offer an approved company access to department facilities, staff, and technology

Consular Identification Card

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2019, Chapter 3, HF 6, Article 2, section 28; Amends

Minn. Stat. § 168A.085

Effective: May 31, 2019 and retroactive to motor vehicle title applications and

registrations submitted after October 1, 2018

What you need to know:

• A valid and unexpired Consular Identification card is a primary document when the applicant is applying as the owner for vehicle title or registration

• The Consular Identification card cannot be used for Minnesota driver's license or Minnesota Identification Card applications

Assignee of Secured Party

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2019, Chapter 3, HF 6, Article 3, section 29; Amends

Minn. Stat. § 168A.12, subdivision 2

Effective: August 1, 2019

What you need to know:

• If the interest of a motor vehicle owner is terminated or the vehicle is sold under a security agreement by a secured party named in the certificate of title, or by assignee of the secured party, the secured party does not need to obtain a new certificate of title in order to sell the vehicle.

Notice of Perfection by Dealer

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2019, Chapter 3, HF 6, Article 3, section 30; Amends

Minn. Stat. § 168A.17

Effective: August 1, 2019

What you need to know:

- Licensed dealers may provide statements of lien perfection on a form provided by DVS that certifies compliance with subdivision 2 and contains the date of delivery to the department
- Information provided in the dealer's statement is considered prima facie evidence of the facts contained in it

Multiple Areas

Driver and Vehicle Systems Oversight Committee

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2019, Chapter 3, HF 6, Article 2, sections 33 and 34

Effective: May 31, 2019

What you need to know:

- Establishes the Driver and Vehicle Systems Oversight Committee and replaces the MNLARS Steering Committee
- Dissolves the MNLARS Steering Committee
- Defines the duties of the Driver and Vehicle Systems Oversight Committee
- Requires a report for the DPS Commissioner and MN.IT on several topics related to MNLARS, the VTRS, and FastDS
- Encourages reports from various partners and stakeholders regarding MNLARS, the VTRS, and FastDS
- The Driver and Vehicle Systems Oversight Committee must meet at least per quarter
- The Driver and Vehicle Systems Oversight Committee expires six months after full implementation of the VTRS

Self-Service Options

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2019, Chapter 3, HF 6, Article 2, section 37

Effective: May 31, 2019

- The DPS Commissioner must consider ways for the VTRS and FastDS to allow for selfservice options and on the spot fulfillment
- Specifically, the receipt of the driver's license or identification card at the same time and location as the application is made must be considered
- The findings must be reported to the Driver and Vehicle Systems Oversight Committee

Ignition Interlock Participation and Vehicle Forfeiture

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2019, Chapter 5, SF 8, Article 6, section 4; Amends Minn.

Stat. § 169A.63

Effective: August 1, 2019

What you need to know:

Vehicle forfeiture proceedings are stayed for individuals who become a program
participant in the Ignition Interlock Program (IIDP) any time before the vehicle is
forfeited

Other Items of Interest

Deputy Registrar Reimbursements

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2019, Chapter 3, HF 6, Article 1, section 6 and Article 2,

section 36

Effective: May 31, 2019

What you need to know:

- \$13 million is appropriated in FY 2019 for reimbursement grants to deputy registrars
- The appropriation is available until July 31, 2019
- Within 30 days of the effective date, DPS will inform each deputy registrar the grant amount each is eligible to receive based on the calculation formula provided in subdivision 2
- In order to receive the grant, on or before June 30, 2019, the deputy registrar must request
 disbursement of the grant and agree to release and hold harmless the state and its
 employees from any liability or claim arising from the development and deployment of
 MNLARS

Dealer Chargebacks or Payment Withholding

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2019, Chapter 3, HF 6, Article 3, section 5; Amends Minn.

Stat. § 80E.13

Effective: August 1, 2019 and expires on June 30, 2022

What you need to know:

 Manufacturers, distributors, and factory branches cannot implement a charge back or withhold payment to a dealer solely due to an unreasonable delay by the state registrar of motor vehicles

- The dealer must provide written notice to the manufacturer of the state's delay
- Within 30 days of notice of a chargeback, withholding of payments, or claim denial, the dealer must transmit to the manufacturer documentation to demonstrate the vehicle sale and delivery as reported; and a written attestation signed by the dealer operator or general manager stating the delay is attributable to the state

Contributions to the Law Enforcement Memorial Account (LEMA)

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2019, Chapter 3, HF 6, Article 3, section 22; Amends

Minn. Stat. § 168.1294, subdivision 6

Effective: August 1, 2019

What you need to know:

- By August 15 of each year, all remaining funds for the LEMA must be distributed to the association
- By January 15 of each year, the association must submit a report that includes an itemized list of each expenditure the association made with the funds received under this section

Dealers with Multiple Licenses

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2019, Chapter 3, HF 6, Article 3, section 23; Amends

Minn. Stat. § 168.27

Effective: August 1, 2019

What you need to know:

• New and used vehicles owned by an entity that holds more than one new or used vehicle license may be held and offered for sale at any of the licensed dealership locations without assigned vehicle ownership or title from one licensee to another

DWI Statute Conformity

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2019, Chapter 5, SF 8, Article 6, section 3; Amends Minn.

Stat. § 169A.24, subdivision 1

Effective: August 1, 2019

What you need to know:

• A person is guilty of first-degree driving while impaired if the person has previously been convicted of a felony under a statute from this state or another state in conformity with any provision listed in Minn. Stat. § 169A.24, subdivision 1(3)(i), (ii) or (iii)

Vehicle Platoons

Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2019, Chapter 3, HF 6, Article 3, section 70; Creates Minn.

Stat. § 169.881

Effective: August 1, 2019

What you need to know:

• A person may apply to the Minnesota Department of Transportation Commissioner for approval of a plan to use a platooning system on freeways and expressways

- A platooning system cannot be used without approval of a platooning plan by the Minnesota Department of Transportation Commissioner
- The maximum length of time a platooning plan is valid is one year
- A platooning plan must contain the seven elements contained in subdivision 2
- Vehicle platoons must meet the seven requirements contained in subdivision 4