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Request for Reinstatement — Staff information

Seeking exemption in the Ignition Interlock Device Program

August 1, 2022

What is the Request for Reinstatement? Legislation passed in 2021 waives the ignition interlock device program (lIDP)

requirement in certain situations for drivers who did not own or lease a vehicle at the time of arrest or at any time
between the time of the arrest and the time they submit a request for reinstatement. (Reference: Minnesota Statutes,
section 169A.55, subd. 4)

Applies to all qualifying drivers with revocations occurring on or after Aug. 1, 2021. The earliest anyone can request
reinstatement under this law is Aug. 1, 2022.

Who qualifies? Individuals whose driving privileges were revoked due to an implied consent or DWI conviction and:

Have had their second offense in 10 years, or

Have had their third offense with one or two incidents over 10 years.

Have completed their revocation period.

Did not own or lease a motor vehicle between the time of their arrest and the time they request reinstatement.
Did not commit a traffic violation, driver’s license violation, or driving while impaired violation that would
appear on the driving record from the date of arrest and date of request for reinstatement. Reference
Minnesota Statutes, sections 169, 169A, 169A.55 subd. 4 or 171.

Note: Individuals whose driving privileges are canceled - inimical to public safety (CANC-IPS) do not qualify.

Eligible drivers need to:
o Complete a Request for Reinstatement (PS3001) after the end of their revocation period.

o Obtain a certified copy of their driving record.

o Obtain a certified motor vehicle record from DVS or their current state of residency or licensure
certifying they did not own or lease a motor vehicle during the period from the date of arrest until the
date they submit the request for reinstatement. The date of arrest must be on the form.

=  We modified the motor vehicle section of the DVS record request for to include the arrest date
for requests for reinstatement.



B. Motor Vehicle Record Request

Vehicle Year & Make: Minn. License Plate #: Vehicle Identification Number:
| Motor Vehicle Record
| Certified Motor Vehicle Record Payment made out to | Requester | Requester is
Driver & Vehicle IS subject | NOT subject
| Title History Services of data of data
Specific details about motor vehicle request: Non-Certified Copy | $9.00 $9.50
i Certified Copy $10.00 $10.50

‘ I Date of Arrest for Ignition Interlock Reinstatement Request

$1.00 per printed page, in
’ Vehicle Title History | addition to the record

fee.

The date of the certified record must be on or after the ending date of the revocation period.

o Submit the documents online at drive.mn.gov or at any driver’s license office.

Customers submitting online select Upload an Ignition Interlock Form from the Form Submission panel

at drive.mn.gov.

Form Submissions

Upload a document or respond to a letter from DVS

> Respond to a Letter from Driver and Vehicle Services

[ > Upload an Ignition Interlock Form ] _

> Upload Commercial Forms

> Upload Miscellaneous Forms

> Upload Additional Identity and Residency Documents

On the next page, they select the Program Requirement Waiver link, which is the last one on the page.

> Program Requirement Waiver

Request an Ignition Interlock Device Program requirement waiver. Revoked drivers only.




We’ve added the following information to the Ignition Interlock webpages

e |gnition Interlock Forms

e |gnition Interlock FAQs

Public Frequently Asked Questions

Request for Reinstatement — Seeking Exemption in the Ignition Inlock Device Program

Who does this affect?

You might be eligible if your driving privileges were revoked due to an implied consent or DWI conviction and your
revocation occurred on or after Aug. 1, 2021, and:

e This was your second offense in 10 years or your third offense with one or two incidents over 10 years.
e You've completed your revocation period.

e You did not own or lease a motor vehicle between the time of your arrest and the time of your request for
reinstatement.

e You did not commit a traffic violation, driver’s license violation, or driving while impaired violation that would
appear on the driving record from the date of arrest and date of request for reinstatement. Reference
Minnesota Statutes, sections 169, 169A, 169A.55 subd. 4 or 171.

What if my driving privileges were canceled inimical to public safety?

You do not qualify.

If | don’t own or lease a vehicle, do I still need to participate in IIDP?

You can file a Request for Reinstatement (PS3001) if:

*  Youdid not own or lease a vehicle at the time of the offense or at any time between the time of the offense and
the submission of the request for reinstatement.

* Did not commit a traffic violation, driver’s license violation, or driving while impaired violation that would
appear on the driving record from the date of arrest and date of request for reinstatement. Reference
Minnesota Statutes, sections 169, 169A, 169A.55 subd. 4 or 171.

*  Your revocation period has ended.

How do | submit the Request for Reinstatement form?

You can submit the required documents at any driver’s license office or upload them online at drive.mn.gov.

e From the Forms Submission panel, select Upload an Ignition Interlock Form
e Click on the Program Requirement Waiver link near the bottom of the page.



You will need to provide

e Request for Reinstatement (form PS3001).

e Certified copy of your driving record.
e Certified DVS motor vehicle record that you did not own or lease a vehicle from the date of your arrest until the

date you submit your request for reinstatement.

How will I know if | am approved?

The Minnesota Department of Public Safety Driver and Vehicle Services division (DPS-DVS) will send a letter to you
approving your request for reinstatement and saying you are not required to participate in the Ignition Interlock Device
Program for this revocation.

You must comply with all requirements from any other withdrawals on your record before your driving privileges can be
fully reinstated.

Do not drive until DPS-DVS sends you a notice of reinstatement.

e Your current license status, testing locations, places to pay reinstatement fees and additional information are
available online at drive.mn.gov.

Please call DPS-DVS at 651-296-2948 if you have any questions.



